Technology and dyslexia

At the start of my workplacement, I agreed to write a few blogs during my #JourneyToWork in Spain. Writing and reading has been a major issue for me (but not anymore) because I have dyslexia.

Technology and Dyslexia

What is Dyslexia

Dyslexia is a learning disorder that involves difficulty reading due to problems identifying speech sounds and learning how they relate to letters and words (decoding). Also called reading disability, dyslexia affects areas of the brain that process language. People with dyslexia have normal intelligence and usually have normal vision. Most children with dyslexia can succeed in school with tutoring or a specialized education program. Emotional support also plays an important role. Though there’s no cure for dyslexia, early assessment and intervention result in the best outcome. Sometimes dyslexia goes undiagnosed for years and isn’t recognized until adulthood, but it’s never too late to seek help. Here’s my story:

My Journey through Education and Dyslexia

When I was in education writing was difficult for me and. I was punished by teachers and giving  detention for not completing work on time and making spelling errors.

When I was giving the correct technology it helped me through my exams.  I used a Computer to do my daily work. Usually spell checker helps me through creating and developing knowledge and I’ve used this tool my whole life. I would recommend coloured paper for dyslexic people and I also believe to have found technology supportive to dyslexic people.

I learned how to use power point, excel, word and outlook in school and it became very second nature. I use my skills in technology now to help me in every day life. It has helped me throughout my whole life including working in the Netherlands and Spain. Google translation is an excellent tool for any student or young person that wants to respond to something or needs time to gain experience in the understanding and verbal language of the language being used.

I had a hard time at school with dyslexia but it hasn’t kept me down and I still continue life knowing that my greatest weakness is to doubt. Any human is capable of learning more than they can say. We can we all have doubts but we all should focus on the future, that is technology. And these things will guide us to our internal knowledge and we will gain much more experience in different aspects of life, including culture, fashion, and poverty. We will appreciate our life better when we can see the world within our hands. And I have very much appreciated technology and respect how it has helped me progress in confidence. I am motivated about helping others use technology wisely including family and friends.

My greatest achievement using technology was getting through education with how far it’s came the level of intelligence has increased making technology a more powerful aspect. Technology will also help me in my Journey to Work !

Plaats een reactie